PMI/PCCM SEMINAR SERIES SPRING 2024: Hector Abruña, Cornell University

Mar 27, 2024, 12:00 pm1:00 pm


Event Description

Energy Conversion and Storage: Novel Materials and Operando Methods

Abstract: This presentation will deal with the development of new materials and operando methods for energy systems with emphasis on fuel cells and battery materials and technologies. The presentation will begin with a brief overview of the methods employed with emphasis on the use of X-ray based methods and transmission electron microscopy (TEM) under active potential control and DEMS (Differential Electrochemical Mass Spectrometry). The utility of these methods will be illustrated by selected examples focusing on non-precious metal electrocatalysts for the oxygen reduction reaction (ORR), fuel cell testing and mechanistic studies of ethanol oxidation and Li/S batteries. Recent studies of the use of operando TEM for the study of copper deposition, cathodic corrosion of precious metals and the reduction of CO2 will also be discussed. The presentation will conclude with an assessment of future directions.

Bio: Professor Abruña, Émile M. Chamot Professor of Chemistry, is Director of the Center for Alkaline Based Energy Solutions (CABES), the Energy Materials Center at Cornell (emc2) and the Abruña Energy Initiative.  He completed his graduate studies with Royce W. Murray and Thomas J. Meyer at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1980 and was a postdoctoral research associate with Allen J. Bard at the University of Texas at Austin from 1980-81. After a brief stay at the University of Puerto Rico, he joined Cornell in 1983.  He was Chair of the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology from 2004-2008. His research is focused on the development and oerando characterization of energy materials for batteries, fuel cells and electrolyzers.

Prof. Abruña is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (2018), the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2007) and Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2007). He has been the recipient of numerous awards including a Presidential Young Investigator Award, A. P. Sloan Fellowship, J. S. Guggenheim Fellowship and J. W. Fulbright Senior Fellow.  He is the recipient of the Electrochemistry Award for the American Chemical Society (2008), the C.N. Reilley Award in Electrochemistry for 2007 and Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry in 2008.  He received the D. C. Grahame Award from the Electrochemical Society in 2009, the Faraday Medal of the Royal Society in 2011, the Brian Conway Prize from the International Society of Electrochemistry in 2013, was named Fellow of the Electrochemical Society in 2013 and in 2017 was the recipient of the Gold Medal of the International Society of Electrochemistry. He was awarded the A. J. Bard Award of the Electrochemical Society (2019) the Frumkin Medal of the International Society of Electrochemistry (2019) and the American Chemical Society Award in Analytical Chemistry (2021). Prof. Abruña is the co-author of over 588 publications (h-index = 106) and has given over 690 invited lectures world-wide. He considers his 65 Ph.D. students and 70 Post-Doctoral associates, to date, as his most important professional achievement.

All seminars are held on Wednesdays from 12:00 noon-1:00 p.m. in the Bowen Hall Auditorium Room 222. A light lunch is provided at 11:30 a.m. in the Bowen Hall Atrium immediately prior to the seminar.